Are you fucking kidding me Naomi Madelin

Unbelievable quote of the day:

Eighty-four per cent of people arrested for family violence are men. Half of all violent crime in New Zealand is family violence. The statistics go on. Perhaps the way to give men a chance is for women to appreciate their own femininity more.

The rationale being, apparently, that women trying to be more masculine are the ones “sending the message” that being manly is better … because violence is an inherent part of manliness (and remember, it’s us nasty unshaven feminists who hate men, right) and what the fuck am I even reading.

Oh, right.  I’m reading an SST article by a freelance writer who starts off acting outraged about something Wikipedia says (unfortunately, said quote cannot be verified by Google), then insists femininity isn’t just about wearing frocks, it’s about how we carry ourselves, and seriously seems to think that women choose to deny their inner need for frills in a complete absence of dominant culture which might, you know, treat men as the default, the norm, the aspirational.

I don’t know where to start, but I know where Naomi Madelin could’ve fucking started:  a basic Google search for some feminism 101 blogging on masculinity and the construction of gender, looking up the notion of high femme or the active and long-standing debate about traditional femininity and feminism, picking up the OED, or, I know, having a fucking clue about something before she churned out an erratic, incoherent attack-piece yet again laying the fault for all the world’s ills on stupid, silly women.

8 comments

  1. Scar

    Yeah, I saw the article header on Stuff and got out my Rage Helmet in preparation. As usual, my spidey senses were spot on; rage ensued.
    This got me as well:
    “Gay men reclaimed the word ‘gay’. It’s time for women to reclaim the word ‘feminine’.”
    Because, y’know, homosexuality is a social construct too!

  2. Anita

    I got stuck on women-are-responsible-for-male-violence-against-them, I never made it to the construction of gender offensiveness.

    wtf 😦

  3. Pingback: Naomi Madelin: totally *is* fucking kidding us « Ideologically Impure
  4. Pingback: Forty-third Down Under Feminists Carnival « A Bee of a Certain Age