Sports teams as avatars of Janus

Remember, kiddies: [insert sports team here] are national heroes, veritable gods among mortals, brilliant role models for our kids.  Exhibit A.*

Unless they’re accused of sexual assault, in which case they are dangerous animals pumped up on testosterone and thuggery and any sensible woman should avoid them. Exhibit BExhibit C.

~~~

*I don’t mean to hate on Stuart Nash at all, it was just the perfect example for this particular cultural paradox.

One comment

  1. Octavia

    But really it’s feminists who hate men dear, and reduce them to the level of oafs who cannot control their violent urges. Oh wait.

    Sitting in a cafe the other day I glanced upon a certain well-known gossip magazine (I hate the term ‘women’s magazine’) and saw an article featuring one of the latest exposed sports hero rapists, smiling happily with his wife. The piece was about how hard it was for her to cope with his infidelity. Smiling picture of a rapist. Infidelity. I felt like someone had punched me in the stomach. There’s low expectations of such media, and then there’s that.

    P.S. This is A, I have rediscovered you blog, hurrah.