Things I do/don’t care about

I don’t care :

Where Len Brown sticks his cock

I do care :

That our media seemingly were on the edge of their seats waiting for a just-credible-enough story to appear on W****O** so they could breathlessly report it.

That it took approximately three nanoseconds for our media to decide that what their coverage really needed was the most infantilising, racist lens possible.

That anyone with a good idea how these stories work knew from the word go that it will be Bevan Chuang who ultimately pays the price in terms of reputation – in five years Len Brown will be “the first Mayor of the Auckland supercity” and she’ll still be his “mistress” – and that Cameron “Wankstain” Slater and Stephen “Woman found dead” Cook absolutely knew this and didn’t care.

That a lot of people being sanctimonious about this story right now are cheating on their spouses, and we may never know – and it wouldn’t be any of our business anyway, but it certainly puts their criticism in a different light.

That plenty of liberal men seemingly were on the edge of their seats waiting for an excuse to use the phrase “honey trap” and feel fully justified in doing so because “well she was“.

That once again if you’re a shitheel rightwinger throwing mud you still get called a “journalist”.

8 comments

  1. Marama

    I am an old woman. I’ve fought all my life for equality for all people, regardless of their gender, race, creed, or ability, so I am bemused by self proclaimed feminists who leap to the defense of Bevan Cheung portraying her as a victim of sexism and heaping all the blame and opprobrium on the men involved. Bevan Cheung was 30 years old when she chose to accept Len Brown’s advances. She knew what she was doing. She has said herself that she knew from personal experience the effect it would have on Len Brown’s wife and family but she did it anyway. It was her choice. She chose to act the way she did and now she is suffering the consequences. When I was younger, and half the size I am now, I had many opportunities to have affairs with married men, but I didn’t. I believed that I owed it to other women not to do anything that would bring them more grief or suffering. It wasn’t about the men; it was about solidarity for women. God knows, over thousands of years men have made life difficult for women. The very least we women can do is stick together and not be complicit in men’s stupid, dirty little games.

    • QoT

      1. Her surname is spelled “Chuang”
      2. Bevan Chuang’s personal decisions about relationships are still none of anyone’s fucking business except hers and people directly affected by it.
      3. I don’t think much of the “feminism” of someone who sees the treatment of Chuang by our racist, sexist media as her getting “just desserts” for sexual indiscretion.

    • V (verbscape)

      There is too much, let me sum up.

      QoT:
      -Criticism of media
      -Criticism of media
      -Criticism of media’s framing and Slater’s and Cook’s indifference
      -Undoubtable hypocrisy of some commenters
      -Criticism of liberal men’s revealed sexism
      -lol “journalism”

      Not in QoT’s post: any discussion of Chuang’s behaviour.

      Your response:
      “But that woman (with a name I can’t spell correctly even though it’s right there in the blog post I’m responding to) is such a slut! Why are self-proclaimed feminists criticising men when we could talk about what a slutty slut slut this woman is?! PS: SLUUUUUUUTS!!!!!!!1!”

      Yeah, I see how you’re all about “women sticking together”. Pardon me if I’d prefer you to never “stick by” me.

      • QoT

        As it was obviously Chuang’s choice to do things Marama disapproves of, Marama obviously cannot be held responsible for her misogynist response to it!

  2. Marama

    1. I apologise for spelling Ms Chuang’s name wrote. I copied it from somewhere without checking. My mistake.
    2. To your second point: if Ms Chuang had decided to have an affair with a local non-entity, you are right, her personal decision would have been nobody else’s business except the people directly affected by it. Instead she chose to have an affair with a prominent politician and she also chose to make that affair public, at which point it became everyone’s business. It seems she was coerced, in which case she could have sought help to get herself out of trouble, but she didn’t.
    3. Finally, I don’t see Ms Chuang’s subsequent treatment as her getting her “just deserts” ( i.e. what she deserves; nothing to do with pudding). I see it as the tragic consequences of her unwise choices and her unwise actions. I hope we can teach our young girls to make wise choices.

  3. MeToo

    Was horny last night. But partner stuffed up with a cold and not the least bit libidonous. (Is that a word outside of WOW?)
    So we talked about the Len Brown affair.

    *instant cure for me*

    I was totally over this story the instant it broke. I’m not sure what is the most worrying prospect: that the moral outrage being expressed in some quarters is mock/faux., or that is is genuine.