Random recommended reading

Abortion is not a bad thing by Linda Prine.

When I give a presentation about the abortion services we provide in our family medicine clinic,  people often ask, “Do you have a counselor to meet with your patients to help them?” I’m a bit put off by this question. I want to say, “It’s my patients with a new diagnosis of diabetes or high blood pressure or cancer who need a counselor – they are the ones having their lives changed forever with a diagnosis and disease that won’t go away, whereas my abortion patients are addressing their issue!” But, of course, I can’t say that.   I am perturbed by the implication that women having abortions are somehow being traumatized.  To the extent that they are traumatized, it is the fault of our culture that demonizes women for obtaining an abortion.  The abortion experience itself can be positive.

One comment

  1. Pingback: The Daily Blog Watch Tuesday 2 July « The Daily Blog