Te Mana follow up and continuing fail

So, first up: clarification on Te Mana’s non-existent policy on reproductive rights which is due to be released in the undefined future.

The fact that this finally got responded to when a dude asked the question?  Irony not escaping me.

The fact the answer is still surrounded by a bunch of Mana supporters whinging THERE ISN’T A POLICY, WHY DON’T YOU SHUT UP, YOU’RE HURTING THE MOVEMENT?  Is just … well, depressingly reminiscent about asking Labour about policy, to be honest.

But before they got there, there was this.  The awesomely waffley, refusing-to-take-sides, ever-so-slightly-whinging complaint that a moderator was expected to moderate shit and why couldn’t you all just get along.  Complete with insisting that no one could be moderated until the admin themselves had gone through the threads because they just hadn’t seen the whole huge flaming “whores/lezos/demon seed” thread going down on their own page.  Which .. is nicely reminiscent of every other instance of The Powers That Be in a given situation refusing to believe women’s experiences.

For bonus point, you get a bunch of people experiencing that wondrous 21st century epiphany that maybe posting abusive shit under your real name on Facebook on a public page isn’t such a good idea, and it’s so unfair for people to … accurately report a person’s statements via screenshot.

So this is still a big fail mark with me.  You cannot let queries go unanswered for a whole business day, especially when those queries are being answered abusively by people claiming the mana to represent your voice and state your stance.

You cannot respond to hateful shit like that by waffling about good faith and not descending into personal abuse without clearly acknowledging that one side of the argument turned to personal abuse against the other.  You just cannot play “both sides contributed” when one side said “what’s your policy” and the other said “shut up you sick lezos”.  It’s just fucking gutless at the very least.

And to any Mana-Facebook-likers out there who want to whinge about people criticising Mana’s use of social media, and how dare we use this issue to raise points about their management of social media?

You want to know what looks awesome to a mainstream media already spinning a story about Te Mana being radicals, scary, extremists, unfocused, useless?  Letting undecided voters get shat on on your Facebook page and not being willing to take a fucking stand on something as basic as “do not call people whores and accuse them of bad faith when they ask policy questions”.

3 comments

  1. just saying

    I’ve continued to follow this on the Te Mana facebookpage hoping that I would see something to change my mind about the party that I really wanted to support.

    I’ve been slapped down and told to shut-the-fuck-up so many times it’s carved into my brain. I felt for Boganette and Neesha taking that (or should I saying trying to refuse to take that). It harms and degrades. I watched men saying the same things treated completely differently. It hurt to see so many of the other members virtually cheering the abusers on, and through it all, a moderator commenting on other threads. You can’t tell me that that’s not tacit approval. Nothing I’ve seen, including the ‘explanations’ and less than wholehearted, and back-handedly victim-blaming “apology”, has shown that the leadership of that site gets why this is important.

    My biggest reservation about Te Mana was the swaggering macho vibe that I tried to ignore. Can’t ignore it now.

    I thought that finally this was the party that represented people like me, but no, I’m still one of the ‘others’ and it’s still open season on the ‘other’.

    Same shit, different party.

  2. Good Gravey

    This is one thing that troubles me about getting into some of these debates. This is not the first time I have tried to support a group of people trying to get some sort of response, and seem to get one as a guy.

    I ended up giving up on them (probably shouldn’t have, but really had pretty much had enough of them), and only found out about the Mana Wahine announcement-to-be from B’s tweets.

    I was going to argue back about the “we’ve TOLD you there is no policy” with “As far as we can tell, you’re just someone who “Likes” this page. You are not a representative of the Party. Just because there is no **published** policy does not mean that there is no policy. What I want to know is what the actual Party has to say”

    I gotta say, at least on Twitter I am grateful to Metira for being so brilliant. I think she has secured my vote for the Greens (although I have always previously supported Labour).