Dinosaur trips over own boner while tilting at self-constructed windmills

I’m sorry, everyone.

I’m sorry Chris Trotter likes to wax lyrical, pretending not to know what people are talking about when they’ve taken the time and energy to provide all the relevant links to his own previous sexist whinging.

I’m sorry Chris Trotter has so little respect for women he thinks we can’t concentrate on more than one issue at a time.

I’m sorry Chris Trotter is so defensive about being called on his and the “mainstream” Left’s misogyny that he has to ironically apply a “you’re either Nexus with us or against us” strawman on feminists.

I’m sorry if any of you sustained abdominal injuries while cackling* at Chris Trotter of all people calling someone else a “bully”.

I’m sorry if anyone had to waste 5 minutes on Google to reassure themselves that Chris Trotter has no idea what he’s talking about in regards to the US antichoice movement, which has been incremental and smouldering and very subtly engineered for the most part.

I’m sorry that my heretofore mild tone is about to be cast aside in favour of my usual “expletives-included” style.

Because fuck you, Chris Trotter.  Fuck you for using vulnerable solo mothers as a fucking weapon against a feminist who actually gives a fuck about helping women take charge of their bodies and doesn’t cast them aside once they’re no longer useful.  Fuck you for trying to turn NZ feminists against each other and using a woman public figure, very thinly veiled, as another weapon.  Fuck you for fucking implying with scare quotes that that woman was somehow being dishonest in describing herself as a mother.

And fuck you, you pathetic, outmoded hack, for trying to say “that’s politics” as though you have a single fucking clue how to get the left back into power in this country.  Let me know when that brilliant racebaiting manoeuvre from fucking 2009 starts paying off, mmkay?

But thank you, too, Chris.  Thank you for continuing to demonstrate your utter irrelevancy.  Thank you for proving for me (as though it needed to be proven) that feminists cannot assume the left are allies (hey Marty G, if you’re reading this, remind me why you were surprised my post was less than flattering of Labour?).

Thank you for the hilarity of the fact that you have no fucking sense of history, when you try to say that the people who stood up and made noise never achieved anything.  I’ll remind every civil rights activist ever, shall I?  Guess they should’ve just got up and asked quietly from the back of the bus if they could be treated like full, worthy human beings, etc.

You’re not scary, Chris.  You’re not intimidating.  You haven’t put me in my place.  You’ve just made my entire argument for me.  And I thank you for that.

~

*Like harpies!

9 comments

  1. Robot Pie

    I read his post. I have since decided (having long suspected) that Chris Trotter is full of shit and no longer worth considering.

    ‘Sisters in arms?’ Patronizing arse.

    Dinosaur? Pity the liberal dudebro hasn’t gone extinct yet.

  2. just saying

    Well you’ve gotten a reaction at B Rd already QoT. Chris has finally let through one (token) female comment.

  3. Octavia

    Bravo, seriously. And he really has proved your entire point.

    How do you get that clueless about human rights history anyway? Oh I know, his great stinking privilege gets in the way of forming logical, empathetic thought.

    And fuck, we’re supposed to sit down and be quiet when it’s proved time and time again that we can’t even rely so called liberal allies (usually fauxgressive cis men. ‘Sup lprent & co?) for real support? Yeah that’ll work. In the magical land in his head where there may also be unicorns. And he’s still relevant.

    But I don’t think he really believes that or wants it to work, it’s just a derail. What he wants is for women & those who can get pregnant to shut up so the *real* fully human people can get back to *their* Very Important Concerns.

    In the small silver lining corner, means you’re Important Scary People huh? :D I’m gonna start name-dropping QoT, just you wait. Piggybacked blog-stardome here I come!

  4. Boganette

    Nexus!

    Yes. Chris is pathetic. And a bully. And likely won’t publish my comment either. With allies like these….

    He is a dinosaur. A dinosaur who is intimidated by women and young people. It’s as simple as that. We don’t bow to him and we don’t view him as the leader he so clearly seems to think he is and he fucking hates that.

    Also, ‘abortion on demand’ is not the big, scary monster he tried to imply it is. It’s just being pro-choice. It’s simply believing the best person to decide if a woman has an abortion or not is the woman herself. He can claim to be pro-choice all he wants but that doesn’t make it so. It’s not pro-choice to say “I will allow abortion but only if and when I approve of it and deem the woman worthy of choice and not in an election year”.

  5. TidgeH

    Just, yes. And good to see the many comments being published supporting you over at Bowalley Rd.

    Also, your tags win the internet.

    • QoT

      I do like my tags. Unfortunately Chris has apparently decided that in order to provide “balance” he’ll also happily host commenters using wonderfully ableist “bitch is crazy” rhetoric. And I was wondering why I didn’t have his blog on my reader …